School Logo

St Ethelbert's Catholic Primary School and Nursery

High expectations for all, in the light of Christ

Get in touch

Social Media

RE Inspections

There are two types of School Inspection. Section 5 is the OFSTED whole school Inspection and Section 48 is the RE Inspection that is carried out in schools that have a religious character. OFSTED has no remit to inspect the RE provision in a school designated as having a religious character and do not pass judgement on this area of school life in their inspection process.


Denominational Inspections (Section 48)


Every school in the Archdiocese of Southwark is inspected under Section 48 of the Education Act 2005. These inspections evaluate the Catholic life of the school, the Religious Education in the school and the Collective Worship within the school, as well as all areas of RE. This inspection process helps ensure that all Catholic schools continue to act in conformity with the teachings and regulations of the Church and the mission of the diocese. RE Inspections take place every 5 years.


Inspectors will use the following four-point scale to make all judgements:

• Grade 1: outstanding

• Grade 2: good

• Grade 3: requires improvement

• Grade 4: inadequate


Please read St Ethelbert’s Catholic Primary School and Nursery’s most recent Section 48 Report here:

St Ethelbert's Catholic Primary School and Nursery Denominational Inspection Report 2023

Ofsted Inspections

Ofsted inspect schools to provide information to parents, to promote improvement and to hold schools to account for the public money they receive. School inspections are required by law. Ofsted provides an independent assessment of the quality and standards of education in schools, and check whether pupils are achieving as much as they can.

Ofsted inspectors look at four main area which are the quality of education, the behaviour and attitudes of the pupils, the personal development of pupils and the leadership of the school. Schools receive a judgement for each of the four inspection areas, and an overall judgement. There are four numerical grades:

  • 1: Outstanding
  • 2: Good
  • 3: Requires Improvement
  • 4: Inadequate



Please read St Ethelbert’s Catholic Primary School and Nursery’s most recent Ofsted Report here: